Log in

Davis McCarn Technology Award

What is the Davis McCarn Technology Award?    

Davis McCarn was a chair of the Montgomery County Library Board. He was employed at the National Library of Medicine, where he managed the development of MEDLINE, the first nationwide online health-related database.   He was chair of Citizens for Maryland Libraries, a member of the Sailor Governance Board, and led PUBLIUS, a state political action committee for the promotion of libraries. McCarn passed away in 2001. The award is presented in recognition of outstanding effort to use technology to improve library service in Maryland.

Who is eligible

Any library staff member, Library Trustee, or advocate is eligible.

How to apply:

Nominations are made by current and former CML Board members or other interested individuals. The application requires an essay of up to 500 words describing the achievements in improving library service in Maryland. It should include a brief description of the technology and its use, as well as the nominee's work and/or volunteer experience in Maryland libraries.


January 31, 2022, by 11:59PM. The application should be submitted to the CML Awards Committee by email at cml@citizensformarylandlibraries.org

Award:  Framed certificate and a check for $100. The award is presented at the MLA Annual Conference. CML will also award one night free at the Conference hotel if reimbursement is not provided by another organization, and tickets for two for a Conference dinner/banquet. The award recipient will be further announced at the CML Annual Meeting and publicized in the CML newsletter.
Past Recipients:



Jen Bishop, Exploration Commons Manager, Carroll County Public Library
No Award

Digital Curation Innovation Center (DCIC), College of Information Studies (iSchool), University of Maryland


Liz Sundermann
2017 Steve Potash, President and Chief Executive Officer, OverDrive
2016 John Courie, IT Manager, Caroline County Public Library
2015 Dr. Claude Walston, Professor Emeritus, University of Maryland
2014 Tracy Carroll, Western Maryland Regional Library and Louise LeTendre, Harford County Public Library Board of Trustees
2013 Stuart Ragland and Michael Walsh, SAILOR
2012 Carroll County Public Library eReader Team (Bryan Hissong, Christina Kuntz, Patty Sundberg)
2011 Jill Craig, Western Maryland Regional Library
2010 Maurice Coleman, Technical Trainer, Harford County Public Library
2009 Craig Abresch, Eastern Shore Regional Library
2008 Nini Beegan
2007 Joseph A. Thompson, Jr.
2006 Due to venue change for presentation, there was no award this year
2005 Bob Kuntz, Carroll County Public Library for CML and MLA
2004 Michael Osborne, CML Board Member, Former DLDS staff member
2003 Patricia Wallace, Enoch Pratt Free Library
2002 Scott Reinhart, Carroll County Public Library

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software