Log in

Marion Satterthwaite Award

What is the Marion Satterthwaite Award?    

Marion Satterthwaite was a strong advocate for libraries. A trustee for Anne Arundel County Public Library, she helped to rewrite library laws. Ms. Satterthwaite was also a state president of the League of Women Voters. She passed away in 1994. The Marion Satterthwaite Award recognizes outstanding achievement in library advocacy in Maryland. The nominee has displayed a history of effort and commitment that has fostered and sustained advocacy in Maryland.

Who is eligible

Any Library Trustee, registered Friends Group of a Maryland library or library staff member who has a record of effective advocacy for Maryland libraries is eligible.

How to apply:

Nominations are submitted by current or former CML Board members or other interested individuals. The application requires an essay describing the achievements in library advocacy in Maryland. It should include work and/or volunteer experience in Maryland libraries.


January 31, 2025, by 11:59PM. The application should be submitted to the CML Awards Committee by email at cml@citizensformarylandlibraries.org

Past Recipients:
2023Kathie Smarick, Queen Anne's County Library 
2022No award 



Margaret Carty (posthumously), former Executive Director, Maryland Library Association

Kathleen Campanella, Carroll County Public Library
Patricia Hofmann, CML Past President and Board Member


Kristen Pironis, Trustee, Queen Anne’s County Library

2018 Sharon Maneki
2017 Martha Grahame, Calvert Library and Southern Maryland Regional Library Association
2016 Susan Schmidt, Montgomery County Public Library, Media Assistant MCPS
2015 Judith McKinney, Cecil County Public Library Board
2013 Mary Baykan, Director, Washington County Free Library
2012 Lynn Wheeler, CML Board Member and Past President
2011 Pat Fisher, CML Board Member and Past President
2010 ;Natalie Edington, MLA Federal Legislative Chair
2009 Ruth Showalter, Calvert County Library, former CML Board member
2008 Mary Ann Chasen, Lexington Park, St. Mary's Co. Library
2007 Mary Mallery, CML Executive Director
2006 Due to venue change for presentation, there was no award this year
2005 David Goldsmith and Maurice Rindskopf, CML Board Members
2004 Mitzi Perdue
2003 Everett Friedman, Randallstown Friends of the Baltimore County Library
2002 Nettie Taylor, Former State Librarian
2001 Baltimore Sun Reading by 9 project
2000 Estelle Williamson, DLDS
1999 Mary Lou Dewey, Carroll County Public Library and CML
1998 Del. Sheila Hixson
1995 Kitty Hurrey, Southern Maryland Regional Library
1992 Douglas Hill, President, Friends of the Cecil County Public Library

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software