Log in

James Partridge Outstanding African American Information Professional Award

What is the James Partridge Outstanding African American Information Professional Award?    

James Partridge was a true advocate for the right of all people to read and to learn. During his work at the Division of Libraries and Services, he trained many library staff to improve service to the public. His life-long dedication to libraries was remarkable. A nominee must, like James Partridge, exemplify the highest ideas of the library/information profession including, career-long dedicated service, leadership and a commitment to the empowerment of those whom they serve. The James Partridge Award is presented annually to an outstanding African American Information Professional in recognition of contributions made to the information profession.

Who is eligible A nominee must at the time of nomination, be working in a library, information center, archive, library/information science association, government agency or research center, or in library/information science education. A nominee must possess a degree from an ALA accredited program of library/information science.
How to apply:

Nomination of candidates and selection of the award recipient is made by the James Partridge Award Committee appointed by the College of Information Studies, University of Maryland, College Park.

Deadline: A call for nominations is handled by the University of Maryland, usually in August. The deadline for applications is in October. Applications are sent to the James Partridge Award Committee at UM iSchool.
Award:  The award is presented each November during the Conference on Inclusion and Diversity in Library & Information Science (CIDLIS), hosted by the College of Information Studies, University of Maryland (UM). The recipient will receive a $250.00 check at the event from the Citizens For Maryland Libraries along with a framed certificate.
Make a Donation: You may help fund the James Partridge Award with your tax-deductible gift. Mail your check, made payable to Citizens for Maryland Libraries. Address to Citizens for Maryland Libraries, 1100 Green Valley Road, New Windsor, MD 21776. Please note on the check, "Partridge Award."
Past Recipients
2022No award 
2021No award
2020 No award
2019Tahirah Akbar-Williams


Loretta Parham


Ruby Jaby


Arthuree Wright

2015 Wayne Crocker
2014 Dr. Janet Sims-Wood
2012 Michelle Hamiel, Jhnnique Love
2009 Jacquelyn Nixon Purnell
2008 Glennor Shirley
2007 Sarah Crest
2006 Dr. Thomas C. Battle
2005 Karen Patterson
2003 Karen L. Jefferson
2002 Nettie Seaberry
2001 Satia Marshall Orange
2000 Gregory L. Reese
1999 Simmona Simmons-Hodo
1998 James Partridge

Learn more about the award and perspectives of the recipients in the publication, Celebrating the James Partridge Award: Essays Toward the Development of a More Diverse, Inclusive, and Equitable Field of Library and Information Science, edited by Diane L. Barlow, and Paul T. Jaeger, Emerald Group Publishing Limited, 2016. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software